Prompt Writings: My Lost Epiphany

Poetry. That is the inspiration for prompt #5. While I have written some poetry, it is usually prose that drags me along by the wrist until I agree to play. 

However, I do enjoy reading poetry, particularly some of the older styles (the pieces with a lot of rhythm, rhyme, and alliteration are my favorite).

Because of that, I found myself considering three of my favorite poems for this prompt: “The Raven” and “Annabel Lee” by Edgar Allen Poe, and “The Road Not Taken” by Robert Frost.

The last line of “The Raven” didn’t really lend itself to this specific prompt.

Neither, really, did the last line of “The Road Not Taken.”

So, I’m going go borrow the last line of Poe’s “Annabel Lee” to begin my own poem.

As always, feel free to participate and share your own responses to the prompt.


My Lost Epiphany

In her tomb by the sounding sea,
An eternal slumber, as it be,fading-idea
I heard her calling out to me,
My precious, but dead epiphany.

It would not do to dwell on thoughts
About what is or what could be.
She does not rest restlessly
But rather deeply, don’t you see?

Yet still I hear her call to me
Despite the fact her death decreed
Throughout my realm that is me.
I seek  solace for epiphany.

With time I did come to agree
That she was dead there by the sea.
Her dream: to be shackle free.
Alas, with that I also agreed.

Finally I did let her go;
She is forever lost to me
Never again will she ever be
In her tomb by the sounding sea.


At least for me, it sucks when I have the flicker of an idea or realization but it remains just out of reach. It stays there, just outside my grasp, driving me crazy, but eventually I have to move on and let it go.

RIP Thoughts.jpgI thought the final line from “Annabel Lee” lent itself to this idea. My mind is an ocean of thoughts, a “sounding sea,” where different thoughts ebb and flow around until one washes far enough ashore for me to pick it up.

Not every idea or realization reaches fruition. The hope that they will become complete sometimes has to be abandoned, entombed in the back of the subconscious. Sometimes, the idea or realization is lost forever.

So, friends, what do you think? Did any of you write to the prompt? If so, why did you choose the poem you did?

2 thoughts on “Prompt Writings: My Lost Epiphany

Leave a Reply

