Prompt Writings: What to do?

Happy New Year, friends! I hope you all are able to find plenty of success in 2017. Here’s hoping, too, that the year doesn’t hang as heavy over the world as last year did.

It is time again for a Prompt Writings post with Prompt #7. This week’s prompt wasn’t great (neither is next week, to be honest), so I’m altering it a little bit. Instead of just making a list of things that can be done without the internet, I thought it might be fun to also write a little something about each thing on the list.

So funny thing about this blog post: I actually had to type it up offline because my internet was being wonky and wouldn’t connect.

The universe has a funny sense of humor.

So here is my list, starting with the most obvious one to my current situation:

  1. Write a blog post (like this one)
    • Huh. What a great idea, right?
    • I’m probably going to start on next week’s post tonight, too.
    • Next week’s post is going to be about romance subplots/love triangles and how they undermine the social commentary in apocalyptic, post-apocalyptic, and Dytstopian stories.
  2. Write a novel (#Dythoids)
    • At the moment I am kicking myself for not getting up and writing down the awesome idea I had last night for Dythoids. Gr. The curse of a sleepy writer.
    • With focusing on other writing and on the holidays, I gave myself time away from working on Book 2, but I will be getting back into that in the next few days.
  3. Write a short story
    • I’ve been adding to my chapbook, Fragmented.
    • I’m not sure if they are technically flash fiction or prose poetry or something else. So far the pieces have been well-received, though.
  4. Edit freelance work
    • Well, freelance work in general.
    • I love editing, especially .
  5. Edit creative writing
    • I’ve played around with the first chapter or so of Dythoids Book 1 to start on a summary. I figured a summary might make things easier when it comes time to catch inconsistencies.
    • I’m working on cleaning up my chapbook and editing the new pieces I’ve written for it.
  6. Draw original characters
    • My people drawing skills are so bad, so my poor characters have to deal with that.
    • I recently tweeted an early colored-in sketch of Stasia from Dythoids Book 1. She really needs a better sketch that is more similar to some of my other character drawings I’ve done.
  7. Sculpt dragons using Sculpey Clay

    This slideshow requires JavaScript.

    • Why? Dragons are awesome.
    • The first one I sculpted was actually a gift for one of my best friends based on one of her original characters.
    • I start out by building frames for the dragons using foil, toothpicks, and wire. I then build up using clay. When I’m happy with how the dragon looks, I stick it in the oven for about 15 minutes until it cures.
  8. Paint canvases13308501_1104810816247691_3739593213338366040_o
    • I didn’t really get into painting canvases until early-ish 2016.
    • I love painting the canvas black then laying on other colors while that paint is still wet.
    • I originally got the idea to blend the image with the background by watching Bob Ross videos.
  9. Cook dinner
    • This is currently my paprika chicken, aka my youngest brother’s favorite dinner that I make.
    • With no specific measurements, I sprinkle/shake on:
      • Olive oil
      • Cracked salt and pepper
      • Onion powder
      • Garlic powder or granules
      • Spanish paprika
      • Cilantro or parsley as a garnish
    • This is the best on a grill, but it is doable in the oven
  10. Read Kristin Bailey’s The Legacy of the Clockwork Key or A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle
    • A Wrinkle in Time as been on my To Read list for some time now, but I hadn’t picked it up. I was browsing the YA section at Half Priced Books and stumbled upon a 50th Anniversary Commemorative Edition.
    • I continued scanning the spines and eventually my gaze was drawn by Book 2 in Bailey’s series, The Secret Order. After realizing it was a series, I grabbed Book 1, The Legacy of the Clockwork Key.
    • Later on while browsing Kristin Bailey’s website, I learned that A Wrinkle in Time was actually an influential book to her series. It’s funny how the world works, isn’t it?

So there is your glimpse into my world and some of the things I like to do when I’m not online, friends.

Are any of you willing to share some of your favorite pastimes that don’t involve being online?

Leave a Reply

