Dythoids: Talkative Characters

Instead of a Prompt Writings post this week, I’m going to share a little snapshot that popped into my head the other day after watching the first Pirates of the Caribbean movie.

I’m just skipping Prompt 8 because it is boring. 40 things I’ve done this month? Nah. Prompt 9 seems pretty interesting, though, so I’ll be doing that prompt in two weeks.

Back on this week: My Dythoids characters have been feeling very chatty lately. I’m trying to work through something in the second book, so I haven’t actually written anything in it since last year.

For inspiration, I was watching the first Pirates of the Caribbean movie because it is fantastic. I love the dialogue. I love the scenery. I love almost everything about this movie.

Anyway, my brain was definitely inspired. It just wasn’t what I was expecting. This little short includes Arin, Dominic, Kiera, and Charlotte from Book 2 of Dythoids.

Arin and Dominic are cousins. Arin and Kiera are girlfriends. Charlotte is married to Will, but he is not in this piece.

Without further delay, I hope you all enjoy:


Arin leaned back in her chair, causing the front legs to tip up off the concrete floor. “See, a lot of the other girls were all into that Romeo and Juliet thing. Not me. I thought it was stupid.” She shook her head. “No, I was more of a Will and Elizabeth Turner kind of girl. Elizabeth was kindhearted, intelligent, cunning, and she wasn’t all that much older than Romeo and Juliet.” She tilted her palm out like she was showing a hand of cards. “Sure, Will kind of dies, but Elizabeth is still the freaking Pirate Queen. Plus, it isn’t like she never sees Will again.”

Charlotte looked up at Dominic as he entered the room from the hallway.

“Not to mention you had the biggest crush on Keira Knightley back then.” Dominic playfully pulled down on the back of Arin’s seat.

Arin jumped, the front feet of the chair clattering to the floor. Her face would have rivaled the glow of a ripe red apple. She forced out a coughing fit, buying herself some time to come up with a retort.

Kiera shrugged. “She still does.” She winked at her girlfriend. “I would be happy to trade places with the other Kiera if I got to sail and fight pirates alongside Will Turner.” She narrowed her eyes then nodded her head. “Yeah, that’d be a fair trade, I think.”

Arin wrinkled her nose and threw a bundled up rag at her girlfriend. “You want to be a pirate now?”

Kiera grabbed the rag out of the air and laughed. “Hey, I could totally pull off being in one of those movies. I’m a quick thinker and strategist like Captain Jack. I’m spirited and loyal like Elizabeth. Not to mention I’ve already got the peg leg.” She folded her arms, the rag draping off of her elbow. “So there.” She swung her prosthetic leg out in front of her and her hips angled with the weight of her attitude. She raised her eyebrows.

Leaning forward in her seat, Charlotte grinned. “Would you go into Will Turner’s world then? Because if he came here it might get a little confusing having two Wills running around.”

Arin shrugged. “That’s fine. Elizabeth Swan is resourceful. She’d be a fine replacement for Kiera here.”

Kiera looked at Dominic. “Your cousin is lucky I love her.“

Dominic put his hands up and laughed. “I’m staying out of this.” He turned his attention to Charlotte, speaking over the continuing back-and-forth between Kiera and Arin, “If you could bring one character from the movies into this world, who would it be?”

Charlotte considered his question. She pursed her lips and looked at him apologetically. “I’m sorry, but I’d have to go with Elizabeth Swan for the rea—“

Arin clapped then pointed at Charlotte. She smiled back at Kiera. “So there you have it. When the next Reset thing happens, you travel through time and space and kick Elizabeth Swan back through this way.”

Dominic shook his head. “Not how that works.”

Arin sighed. “I know that. Darn.” She inhaled through her teeth. “Sorry, Kiera. No swashbuckling with Will Turner.” She walked over and put an arm around her girlfriend.

Kiera laughed. “I think I’ll be able to survive. Thanks for trying.”


And here ends this snapshot of life for this crazy group. This is a very calm moment as far as these characters are concerned, but it gives a glimpse of what I’ve had to work with for this book.

Even if most interactions like this one don’t end up in the actual books, I still want to share them. Why? I think the following quote sums it up pretty well:

“Because whats the point in them being happy now if they are going to be sad later? The answer is, of course, because they are going to be sad later.”
-The Doctor (2011 Doctor Who Christmas Special)

Also, a new Dythoids posts picture!

dythoids-new

Leave a Reply

